Frogg, Harold ‘Ballie’ James (Ojibwe)

Bishiki ‘Buffalo’
May 5, 1926 – September 29, 2007

Harold “Ballie” J. Frogg, 81, of LCO, passed away Sept. 29 at his home in Round Lake, Wisconsin on the Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation. Harold James was born in Ashland, Wisconsin on May 5, 1926, the son of Samuel Frogg and Agnes Gokey.

He worked many years as a laborer then moved into the area of communications and eventually retired as a program director at the Ain Di Ing Halfway House in Spooner. He attended one year of college at the University of Utah and lived on the Lac Courte Oreilles Reservation in Little Round Lake. He was married to his lifelong love and best friend Wanda “Nawigiisisookwe” for over 41 years.

He was a veteran in the army and served in World War II from 1944-1946 and again in Korea from 1949 to 1955, surviving that war as one of the elite “chosen few.”

He was instrumental in helping other Natives resolve AODA issues both at home and abroad. Harold served on the LCO Tribal Governing Board from 1987 to 1989 and also on the LCO Ojibwe Community College Board of Regents from 1991 to 2004.

He is survived by sisters, Janice Frogg-Goldman, Inez Frogg-Lazotte, Lona Frogg-Decorah and Phyllis Debrot from New Post; and many cousins, nephews, nieces, their children and children’s children.

Harold was preceded in death by his grandfather, John Frogg; grandmother, Elizabeth Frogg; father, Sam Frogg; mother, Agnes-Lemieux-Gokey; brothers Frank Fleming, Buckley, Melvin; sister Rosella; aunt Mary Frogg-Sutton; brothers, Alvin and Myron Frogg; sisters Naomi Frogg-DeNasha, Bonnie Frogg-Beigley and Carol Frogg-Crone.

Funeral: Tribal Funeral Rites was held beginning with a feast at 10 a.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 2, at Pineview Funeral Service. Tony Treuer and Melvin Eagle officiated.

Burial: Round Lake Cemetery with military honors accorded by the LCO AMVETS Post 1998.

Visitation began at 5 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 1, at the funeral home.

Honorary Casketbearers: David “Maubin” Merrill, Richard Smith and Lewis Taylor.

Casketbearers: Lonnie Barber, Frank Crone, Jeff Crone, Larry Kagigebi, Bob Skye and Jack Skye.